Easter Menu and Tablescape

2013 Easter menuGentle Reader: Our weather frequently demands North Dakotans keep things simple. Easter on the 47th parallel often means the juxtaposition of winter coats worn over frilly frocks and snow boots replace Maryjanes carried to church in a plastic bag. With Easter being early this year, we’re glad for 40-50 degree weather and most of our snow is gone. Thankfully, grilling the racks of lamb outdoors will not require a shovel.

The menu is decided and the table is set. Flowers are in place. I’ve just made a mental note that decorating for Easter is far less stressful than Christmas. For Easter, I tend to use what is on hand or readily available–a welcome alternative to hauling endless tubs of decorations out of the garage. Here I’ve used grocery store tulips and carrots –and my summer dishes which work perfectly from now through fall.

Reminder to self: Take a lesson in simplicity for next Christmas. Enjoy!!

2013 Easter Carrot & Tulip Bouquet 2013 Easter Tablescape 1 2013 Easter Tablescape 2 2013 Easter Bunny fold Napkins

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry and some observations about life.
Aside | This entry was posted in food, In the Kitchen, North Dakota and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easter Menu and Tablescape

  1. I love the carrots in the vase. Never have I seen anything this interesting. Thanks for sharing the fabulous photos in preparation for Easter.
    Our snow is almost all gone and the forecast promises today the temperature will be around 8 Celsius. Whoo-hoo. Happy Easter.

  2. Diane says:

    Although I’m in Florida and it’s a beautiful sunny and 75 degrees, I wish I were spending the day with you!! Enjoy it all. Much love…

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

