First Love

For Danny
© Bonnie Staiger 2003

We were born one day apart
our Moms in labor together
we rode bikes in 2nd grade
in 6th grade we played kick-the-can

As freshman we danced cheek-to-cheek
I wore a yellow dress and
a corsage from him

Peggy Helfry said
I stole her boyfriend
Me? Not Danny

He drove all night from Montana
when he learned of my divorce
just to remind me
that we are soul mates

He called every year on our birthday
even when he had to drive
down the mountain to a payphone
sometimes he was drunk

The last time he called
I didn’t tell him about
my breast cancer
afraid he’d worry

And he didn’t tell me
that he was dying

Three weeks later
he was gone

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry and some observations about life.
This entry was posted in Curious, Musings and Observations, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Love

  1. Suzi says:

    Oh, that’s so sad. I thought I was reading a happy sweet poem about a first love, but bam! Not what I was expecting. I guess poets like surprise endings just like novelists.

  2. gale*lair says:

    Intense and incredible. I’m a little bit in shock now…

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

