No Recipe Chicken – I Dare You to Wing It

Gentle Reader: Do you think you are not expert enough to try a 1 pot dinner without a recipe? Here I tell you how I did it so, hopefully, you aren’t intimidated by the idea. As you can see, I’m also not formatting it like a recipe. Think of this post like when you would ask your grandmother how she made one of your favorites and she’d rattle off some stuff. Sit back and just read this post. Then trust yourself to give it a try — “wing it.” (No, not related to chicken wings.)

Back story: Lots of business travel this past month left little to eat in the house so I went to the grocery store to by some chicken thighs* which are always a good ingredient to make sure I’m fed for a few days. Now it’s 5:00pm and I’m bordering on starving but I have no plan. Then I reminded myself that I could, indeed, wing it.

Onward! I splashed a bit of olive oil in the bottom of a pot, placed the chicken thighs skin side down to brown a bit and turned them over to brown on the other side. Then I took them out of the pot onto a plate so I could lightly brown some onion in that same pot.

Next, I smashed up and added a clove of garlic. I threw (well, not literally) the thighs back in the pot along with the accumulated juices and by now I’d decided to add a can of diced tomatoes. (No fresh tomatoes on hand which clearly shows I didn’t have this plan when I was in the grocery store 20 minutes earlier.) After that I sprinkled in about a tablespoon of pizza seasoning, splashed in some wine and let it all simmer down for awhile to let the chicken cook through. Now what?

Pasta!? Sure, why not. Boil the water and threw in some noodles. In the meantime, I noticed the tomato sauce was still too runny so I sprinkled in a little Wondra flour which I keep on hand for just this sort of thing. Voilà! Just the right consistency.

About that time, my sweet neighbor, Joan Alice, called and I invited her over for yet another experiment. She is such a brave woman. Two hours later we were well fed and had solved all the world’s problems. Isn’t that what simple food is all about?

* Don’t be buying those tasteless boneless skinless chicken breasts. If you’re a fanatic about lowfatlowcal, find another way to get the job done but this is not it!

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry and some observations about life.
This entry was posted in Food & Wine, Foodie, In the Kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Recipe Chicken – I Dare You to Wing It

  1. gale*lair says:

    Aha – Pesto, you have my interest 🙂 I am a real ‘wing it’ type of cook, so I can appreciate your ‘recipe’… sounds delicious.
    What would we do without sweet neighbors – or, in my case, a sweet husband – to try things on?
    Thanks for stopping by my home on the web!

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

