You Can Be a Chicken and Still Make this Easy Chicken Saltimbocca

Gentle Reader: My cooking adventures continue here on the 47th parallel. Yesterday, I attempted my first try at Chicken Saltimbocca. The recipe came from one of my favorite places Cooks Illustrated. The ingredient list is short and not threatening.

My personal opinion: it was good–just not great –although my sweet neighbor (read: guinea pig) said “the recipe is a keeper.” I was expecting more depth of flavor and perhaps more complexity so next time, I’ll tweak the spices a bit.

During the browning, the cutlets bowed up on side 2 so they got golden around the edges but not in the middle–which ended up pale. As a result, there were fewer brown bits to start the pan sauce and maybe that contributed to it being bland. Certainly, not bad for a first try. If you are a novice, this recipe is not difficult and cooks fast. Granted, the pan sauce was a “wing it” operation because the recipe originally makes 8 servings and I was cutting it down to two.  Thus, making that small amount of sauce was not conducive to careful measuring. Regardless, the pan sauce was fine–just a tad thick.

Cooking tip for future reference: I was impressed with the idea of using dry vermouth instead of white wine in savory or herbaceous recipes (although not suitable for sweet things where white wine is really the only option). It’s easier to keep a small bottle of vermouth on hand rather than opening, using some, and wasting the better part of a bottle of white wine. Yes, a bottle of white wine will go bad in this household but red wine? Never!

Bon Appetite!

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry, some observations about life, and some of my passions--like cooking. Yes, I'm also an admitted foodie.
This entry was posted in food, Food & Wine, In the Kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Can Be a Chicken and Still Make this Easy Chicken Saltimbocca

  1. Katherine Cram says:

    My idea of heaven would be a taste-tester in your kitchen.

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

