Thanksgiving Comes Full Circle

Gentle Reader: This has been a premature Christmas. Traditionally, decorations begin in this house on the first Sunday in Advent. Certainly NEVER before Thanksgiving. But this year is unusual since my home will be featured in today’s Holiday Home Walk—a fundraising event sponsored by the local Symphony League.

A year in the planning and 7+ weeks in the execution, today is the day and everything is set and staged to its glory. There is a light dusting of first snow on the ground. As I walked around the house as dawn was breaking, I stopped to turn on the Christmas music. The first carol was Oh Come, Oh Come Emanuel . . . Oh My!

How powerfully the gift of grace overcomes when we least expect it. All together in a swirl it is both Christmas and Thanksgiving.

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry, some observations about life, and some of my passions--like cooking. Yes, I'm also an admitted foodie.
This entry was posted in North Dakota, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving Comes Full Circle

  1. Bonnie, I’m late to the party for this post, but enjoyed it still. I love good writing, and found it here. I look forward to future posts from you.

  2. John, I’m so glad you could come to the party. On my Facebook page, we are mulling over the recent news of the AP’s approval of ‘hopefully’ as well as the debate over the Oxford comma. Ah, the scintillating life of writers!

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

