Grilled Cheese Sandwich: Elegant and Ridiculously Simple

Gentle Readers: I’ve taken on mastering the art of making grilled cheese sandwiches. While the one in the picture is actually a grilled ham and cheese, I really prefer the plain ol’ plain old. The juxtaposition between the savory, melting cheese and the crunchy bread is to die for.

I kick it up a notch by using a hunk of French bread split in half. Butter the cut side and fry in olive oil. Grill it? Absolutely! Note: the outside of the loaf now becomes the inside of the sandwich. Don’t worry about the rounded surface. As soon as the bread starts to brown I put on a good layer of sliced Gruyere cheese (Yes, I’ve tried a gazillion other kinds of cheese and it’s Gruyere hands down). I like to put a lid on it for a bit to help melt the cheese but I have also tried pressing it with a bacon press and the difference is not that noticeable. Besides, when I get to this point I can’t wait to eat—forget any unnecessary steps. 

This is the best comfort food – fast! A glass of zin –or any luscious red– is perfect with it.

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry and some observations about life.
This entry was posted in Food & Wine, Foodie, In the Kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

