Basil Harvest and Pesto Making

Gentle Reader: OK, so I am a basil fanatic. Each summer I grow as much as I can in my big herb pot on the porch. I cook with it and eat it fresh in all kinds of dishes. Then late summer, when it gets really big, I make pesto and freeze it.

It will take another week or so to recover enough to make another batch. This cutting yielded about 5 cups firmly packed–the exact amount needed to make Ina Garten’s recipe. Notice the gorgeous green olive oil which was a gift from my cousin who brought it from Greece on the return trip from Kosovo. (Yes, North Dakota National Guard Peacekeeping Mission).

I freeze the pesto in muffin cups then transfer the little blocks to one larger bag for space-saving storage and pull out as many blocks as needed for the inspiration of the day. I’m waiting, not very patiently, for the Farmer’s Market vendors to bring Heirloom Tomatoes.

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry, some observations about life, and some of my passions--like cooking. Yes, I'm also an admitted foodie.
This entry was posted in Foodie, In the Kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Basil Harvest and Pesto Making

  1. Katherine Cram says:

    I also enjoy basil and other herbs in my patio pots in the summer. I keep “bouquets” of basil in my kitchen; rosemary in my refrigerator. And, a chef’s tip taught me to freeze basil: stack the leaves, roll into small “cigars”, and wrap tightly in saran wrap. Delicious flavor through our winter months!

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

