Barley’s Biscuits at Bonnie’s

Gentle Reader: Part of my growing family is my grand dog, Barley. She’s a 95 lb. yellow lab who loves the world and everything in it. Occasionally she gets to come for sleep-overs. About a year ago, I decided I wanted her to have special toys and treats when she is here. Well,  the toys were easy to accommodate with a power trip to Pet Smart.

On to the next item: treats. She knows that word means Milk Bones at home. So I also decided the operative word at my house would be cookies. Of course they were going to be gourmet and homemade. I ventured online and found a couple of targets at Bulwinkle.com. More about the Breath Saver version another time. For today I’m talking about Everyday Biscuits.

Barley loves Everyday Biscuits so much that her mouth waters to the point of drooling all over the kitchen floor . . . aka Pavlov’s dog. Say the word cookies and simultaneously get the paper towels.

Of course I needed to buy the cool bone-shaped cookie cutters and learned the hard way to make them thicker and bigger. The first attempt made dozens and took a full afternoon to accomplish. Good thing she didn’t know then how good they were or I would have needed a personal floatation device to get out of the kitchen.

If you are interested in the recipe, here’s the link: http://www.bullwrinkle.com/Assets/Recipes/Everyday%20Biscuits.htm

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry and some observations about life.
This entry was posted in Curious, food, In the Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Barley’s Biscuits at Bonnie’s

  1. Rose Marie Eash says:

    Ah, another trained human. 🙂 How clever of her to teach you how to make treats! My cats have taught me how to be a fine doorman, my dog has taught me to cut cheese up into just bite size pieces and my horses have taught me that five o’clock is really the exactly right time for supper…

    Love your blog – hope you’re having a great summer!

  2. Barley says:

    I can vouch for the deliciousness of Bonnie’s doggie cookies. Just the thought of them makes me drool. I know exactly where she keeps them…if only I could open that freezer drawer!! Much like my owners I love any opportunity to taste her delicious cooking! Thanks Bonnie.

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

