Brunch: Featuring Eggs on the Grill

Gentle Reader: My first experiment with eggs on the grill started, as these things often happen, by inviting 3 friends to come for Sunday brunch on the porch. With that as my inspiration I decided to modify Ina Garten’s recipe for Herb Baked Eggs. Instead of the gratin dishes under the broiler I headed for the grill with each egg in the cup of a muffin tin. They took about 10 minutes under indirect heat and turned out beautifully. Easy too!

I added a few strips of roasted peppers (see post from last week) and roasted asparagus to dress the plates. Also served red swiss chard, grilled toast with marmalade and ginger preserves.

We embellished our brunch with a spritzer made with Prosecco, muddled cilantro, and fresh lime juice.

What a civilized way to spend a Sunday afternoon: simple food, good friends, 75 degree weather in North Dakota and surrounded by flower pots blooming everywhere.

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry, some observations about life, and some of my passions--like cooking. Yes, I'm also an admitted foodie.
This entry was posted in Food & Wine, Foodie and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brunch: Featuring Eggs on the Grill

  1. mistystaiger says:

    This looks like an amazing dish to make on camping trips! I can’t wait to try it!

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

