Varmint Eradication

© Bonnie Staiger. Published: Leaning Into the Wind, Houghton Mifflin, 1997)

Must be that I come
from Homestead stock
that makes me such a good shot

Been five, maybe six years
since I picked up that rifle
but Annie Oakley strikes again!

That gopher should’a known
not to mess around on the place
that’s sure to get my dander up

Second shot was the one that pulled
him right up out’a his hole and left him
floppin’ around the yard for a good minute
till he finally gave up and died

Tough ol’ Broad, now ya gotta dispose of the body
so I picked ‘im up by the tail to haul off
shot right through the head, I see
God, I’m good. Or am I?

The fur on its back
had seven precision stripes
with rows of arrowheads all lined up
between each one

What a perfectly painted little creature

Sleek
      and
           lean
                and
                     dead

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry and some observations about life.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Varmint Eradication

  1. Well, well . . . my varmint eradication project continues. As of this morning my summer totals are 4 voles and 3 mice. No, the 3 mice were not blind, just dumb.

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

