Christening the H.M.S. Kitchen

Last week’s wine tasting was the shake-down voyage of my new stainless steel appliances. It maybe more aptly named the S.S. Kitchen since the 90 degree heat of the past week made it seem more like a steam ship. This captain* can report that everything worked beautifully and the appliances easily contributed several additional hands on deck.

 The mini-reno started in my frustration with a too small refrigerator, went sweeping like a North Dakota prairie fire to a convection/induction range, and etc . . . etc. When the smoke cleared, I even replaced the kitchen faucet with a semi-industrial pull down thingie.

While Alton Brown calls it a chill chest, around here we just call them “the fridge.” My observation is that one needs a fridge big enough to hold pantry items labeled “Refrigerate After Opening” PLUS all the things that are in various stages from construction to serving. Oh, and let’s not forget the aftermath: leftovers. It’s not easy to keep a shelf nearly empty knowing that it needs to be a combat-ready landing strip for platters of cheese and 14 lb. turkeys. One must be ruthless to avoid the chillier version of a junk drawer.

* No, I’m not the Queen of My Kitchen. That title is reserved for my 10-year veteran Kitchen-aid stand mixer.

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry, some observations about life, and some of my passions--like cooking. Yes, I'm also an admitted foodie.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

