My Kitchen, My Heart

First let me say that I love to cook . . . for myself, for family or for friends.  It doesn’t matter. The hearth is the heart of the home. It’s a wonderful diversion from my professional life and a creative outlet. For the most part, I’ve taught myself to cook through a lot of trial and error. I’m determined to be more than a good cook. I want to be adept in the kitchen.

My kitchen is small but amazingly efficient. Recently, I’ve undergone a cleansing of cabinets, utensils and gadgets. As I have become more experienced, I find that I want the best quality tools and supplies my money can buy and I want nothing in my kitchen that isn’t being used with some frequency. The real-estate is too expensive.

I’m a frequent-flyer at Cook’s Illustrated website researching recommended pantry items and equipment reviews. I even have a dog-eared photocopy in my handbag of their recommended supermarket pantry list. I read and compare reviews. I scope out and record my favs on Food Network and the Cooking Channel. I have a 3-ring binder of assorted recipes –often printed off the internet and I write notes in the margins.

I’ll let you know what I’m working on and what’s happening from time to time.

About Bonnie Larson Staiger

I'm a poet. Writing is an extension of who I am. On my blog, North Dakota Roots, I share some poetry and some observations about life.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Kitchen, My Heart

  1. Tom Isern says:

    Looking forward to following this!

  2. betty says:

    Having been the beneficiary of your fine cooking, I’m looking forward to reading about your kitchen adventures!

  3. dan nicely says:

    Great blog, Bonnie.
    Not a great cook, but sure would like to be.

Comments for me? I'd love to hear from you?

